Articles

Lockerz Explored – First impressions

In Scheme Test on October 11, 2009 by jimmyleec

Bookmark and Share

In my last post I talked about how I’d be joining the site Lockerz to see if it lives up to it’s claims and the hype. I’ve had a little play around with it and found out it’s still in the beta stage, and launches fully some time in Autumn (or Fall for you yanks), however it’s being released in stages. A lot of the site is coming soon, but the main feature (PTZ) is up and running. So lets get to it, what do I think so far?
Lockerz - Launch faq

The first thing that happened when I signed in was I was given 2 PTZ for signing in, then prompted to play a game for PTZ. I won 6 PTZ for this (if I remember correctly), then I went to the Redeem section to see how valuable PTZ are.
Lockerz - Electronics fresh out

My first impression was “Wow, these are quite cheap, if I save up for a while, I’ll have myself Apple TV!” That thought was followed by the realization that the top prizes were all Fresh Out. A closer look had me realize that it wasn’t just the top prizes that were fresh out, there wasn’t one thing in the Electronics section that was actually in stock! In fact I checked the other two sections, and the only thing that’s actually in stock is a god damn scarf for 300 PTZ!
Lockerz - Brands

Even the charity donations were out of stock! But this is just the Beta stage right? Let’s not make assumptions too quickly. Here’s what the FAQ said.
Lockerz - Fresh out faq

“Okay, well it’s past that date but I’ll give you the benefit of the doubt that you plan to restock… for now.” So I explored it a bit more, and clicked on My Locker.
Lockerz - My Locker Place

“Okay, the notifications part is still coming soon, I don’t mind, at least I can see how many PTZ I’ve got… wait, what? 0 PTZ? Didn’t I just earn like 8?”

Lockerz - Display Error

I quick glance at the news section told me that it’s a Display error, and apparently my PTZ are safe, but we’ll see. Next I wanted to know the ways in which you get PTZ. Then I found this.

Lockerz - The "Z-List"

I told you they’d be a referral system somewhere deep in all of this. This seems to be the most rewarding, and actually feasible referral system I’ve seen though. I needed more info on the Z list.
Lockerz - The Z List

Even though I lol’d hard at the “Set a new standard of cool” bit, you can’t deny the prizes sound pretty enticing. Double PTZ? That means half the amount of time spent! So my next step was to see how many days it would take to get the highest prize if it were in stock.

Okay, assuming I win 6 PTZ every day in the game, plus the 2 PTZ you get for logging in, and the 2 PTZ you get for answering the daily, let’s see how long it would take to get enough PTZ for the Samsung HD TV, assuming it’s in stock. That’s 10 PTZ per day, so that would mean if you made this every day you would have 3000 PTZ in 300 days, just less than a year.

This took me by surprise, just under a year logging into a website and taking 5 minutes to post stuff. That would mean if I invite 20 people today, (assuming I start with 0 PTZ) which offers 2 PTZ each, and thus earning me double PTZ, it will take me just under 146 days to get that HD TV. That’s without extra referrals. It seems too good to be true… so it may well be too good to be true. Right now the only problem I’ve had is the display error which now states I have 2 PTZ (from inviting my little brother) but not the PTZ I got from the game.

So my first impression of Lockerz is that it may well be possible, but let’s just wait and see. To test it out, I’ll first save up for the cheapest (PTZ) item which is any iPhone decal, although it may not be available, in which case I’ll keep saving up until an item that I can afford becomes available. If you, like me, are an experimentalist, and want to see it for yourself, comment here and I’ll be sure to e-mail you an invite.

Leave a Reply

